Alberta UCP Announces Contest Rules to Replace Leader, Premier

The Conservative Party has announced the rules for a leadership contest to be held on October 6 to select new leaders and the next prime minister of the state.

Each candidate must present a non-refundable admission fee of $ 150,000 and a $ 25,000 refund unless the rules are violated.

Eligible candidates also need to obtain a nomination petition signed by at least 1,000 party members from across the state.

The deadline for the first installment payment of required signatures and entry fees is July 20th.

Prime Minister Jason Kenny announced last month that he would resign after gaining 51.4% of support in a leadership review. He remains until his replacement is selected.

“These rules underscore our commitment to conducting fair, open and impartial leader elections,” David Price, chairman of the party’s leader election committee, said in a statement Tuesday. rice field.

“We are proud of the robust rules we have developed to provide a safe and transparent process.”

Winners are selected by a combination of mail and face-to-face voting in five locations. Each voter ranks the candidates in order of priority.

If no one gets more than 50% of the votes in the first vote, the candidate with the least votes will be dropped and that person’s second priority vote will be reassigned to those who are still in the race. increase. This continues until someone wins the majority.

Eight candidates have announced they want to run for leadership.

The latest declaration was Tuesday’s former Minister of Child Service Rebecca Schultz. She joined Travis Toews, a former finance minister who was a former colleague. And Rajan Thorny, a former Minister of Transport.

All three have left the cabinet to avoid conflicts of interest.

Schultz said the UCP government is on track to fight for better deals from the federal government and move towards the economy.

However, the government stopped listening to the loyal party and Alberta. She said she would turn around as prime minister.

“They feel like we have some rights, we lose contact and they don’t seem to be listening,” Schultz said.

“It depends on being able to say,’Do you know what Alberta is?'” What party members do you know? you are correct. I can hear you. I’m going to get back on track. “

Brian Jean, a former leader of the Wild Rose Party and backbencher of UCP, co-founder of UCP, is working as well as another former leader of Wild Rose, Daniel Smith.

Another backbencher, Leela Aheel, who was dismissed from Kenny’s cabinet in 2021 after criticizing the response to the COVID-19 pandemic, was also an independent Todd Lowen who was voted by Kenny’s caucuse more than a year ago. As well as looking for a top job. Publicly call on Kenny to resign.

The final candidate is Bill Rock, the mayor of the village of Amisk.

There is debate during the campaign and the rules require all candidates to participate or face sanctions or disqualification.

The deadline for new member registration and voting is August 12th.

Dean Bennett

Canadian press


Posted on