Germany relaxes restrictions on eight countries

Passengers suitcase on July 28, 2021 in front of a display board next to a sign pointing to the COVID-19 test center at BER “Willy Brandt” airport in Brandenburg, near Schönefeld and Berlin, Germany. Standing with (StefanieLoos / AFP (via Getty Images)

Berlin — Germany has relaxed restrictions on travel from the United Kingdom, South Africa, and seven other South African countries following the emergence of the new Omicron COVID-19 variant.

Nine countries were removed from Germany’s list of “virus variants” on Tuesday. Airlines and others are primarily restricted to the transportation of German citizens and residents from the countries on the list. All arrivals must be self-quarantined for 14 days, regardless of vaccination status.

Germany’s National Center for Disease Control and Prevention announced on Thursday plans to downgrade the country’s risk status, saying that “short-term changes” were possible at the time.

These are now on the list of “high risk areas” in Germany and are not too annoying. People arriving from such areas that have not recently recovered or have been fully vaccinated should be self-quarantined for 10 days. This can be shortened to 5 with a negative test.

Associated Press