Government of British Columbia terminates immigration detention contract with federal government, citing the pursuit of “social justice and impartiality”

British Columbia has stated that it will terminate an immigration detention agreement with the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA).

In a press release on 21 July, the British Columbia government said it would end its transaction with the CBSA to detain migrant inmates at the state’s correction center.

The state’s Minister of Public Security and Solicitor Mike Fernworth said in a statement that he requested a review last fall to consider aspects of the arrangement, including its impact on public security.

“As part of the review, the BC Collection involved and incorporated their views with several external stakeholders and advocates, including Amnesty International and Human Rights Watch,” he said.

Fernworth said the deal was in favor of human rights and concluded that it was inconsistent with the government’s commitment to “pursue social justice and equality for all.”

Fernworth said the BC amendment would provide the CBSA with a 12-month termination notice required under the current contract and development. A “safe and efficient transition plan” with government agencies to ensure public safety.


The Epoch Times contacted the CBSA for comment, but said authorities were unable to respond by the deadline due to a large number of requests.

according to CBSA website, Immigration and refugee protection rules Determine the agency’s factors regarding whether to detain an individual.

The CBSA website also states that police officers must consider the reasons for detention within 48 hours and may release detainees in some circumstances, with or without conditions.

If someone is detained for more than 48 hours, the Canadian Immigration and Refugee Commission (IRB) will take over, review the case and decide whether to keep or release the individual. The IRB will review each case within 7 days and every 30 days thereafter.

To the south of the border, some states have different policies regarding illegal immigrants than the federal government’s approach to law enforcement.

11 states It has declared sanctuary status since March 2021, including California, Illinois, Massachusetts, New York, and Washington. Sanctuary states have laws, policies, or regulations that protect illegal immigrants from the US Immigration and Customs Authority (ICE).

Isaac Theo


Isaac Teo is a Toronto-based Epoch Times reporter.