Liberal lawmakers Adam Vaughan, Will Amos and Karen McCrimmon do not run for reelection


Ottawa — Liberal lawmakers Adam Vaughan, Will Amos, and Karen McCrimmon have said they will not run for the next federal election.

In an interview with the Canadian press, Vaughn said he decided not to seek re-election in Toronto after 15 years of politics to spend more time with his family after turning 60.

Spadina-Fort York MP said he made a “hard decision” after looking back at the work he had to do to achieve file advances, including the country’s housing strategy, and he called it “half speed.” I realized that I couldn’t do it.

In a post to her Twitter account, Ottawa MP McClimon points out that she was forced to take this step and Canada due to a “health challenge” that requires her attention. -He says he will not ask for reelection at Carlton.

Amos, who has been representing Pontiac’s Quebec riding since 2015, said in a social media post that he wouldn’t run after discussing his options with his family.

Last month, Amos’ office said it was pursuing a “wellness program” after exposing itself twice during a virtual procedure at the House of Commons.

In May, Amos was stripped naked in a similar virtual minutes in April, stating that it happened when she changed clothes after jogging, and then got caught up in camera urination. ..

Amos won the 2019 election in Pontiac with almost 47% of the votes cast. Bloc Québécois was second with 17.6%, and conservative candidates were third with 17.5%.

Conservative candidate Jennifer McAndrew has already begun recruiting with the team to regain the seats lost to the Liberal Party in 2015, so the Liberal Party has not announced a candidate to replace McClimon in Ottawa. Hmm.

As for Vaughan, he says, the intensity of being a member of parliament has hit him. Ashamed people may be prioritized over explaining policy, especially in “disappointed” political cultures.

Vaughn has represented Spadina Fort York in downtown Toronto since he was first elected in the 2014 by-elections. He was a member of the Toronto City Council in the Trinity-Spadina region from 2006 to 2014.

Canadian press