Supreme Court likely to ban some “green card” applicants


Washington (AP) —The Supreme Court appeared to be ready on Monday to prevent thousands of people living in the United States from applying for permanent residence for humanitarian reasons.

Judges said in a telephone debate that federal immigration law prohibits people in currently temporarily protected positions from leaving their “green cards” permanently in the country. It seemed to be in favor of the claim.

This designation applies to people from countries devastated by wars and disasters, protecting them from deportation and allowing them to work legally.

The proceedings put the administration in a pinch against a group of immigrants who claim that federal law is more tolerant of the 400,000 recipients of TPS. Many have lived in the United States for many years, giving birth to American citizens and taking root in the country, their supporters say.

The Justice Department states that it has maintained a position that has been consistently held for 30 years by the administrations of both parties.

President Joe Biden supports changes to the law to guide TPS recipients, among other immigrants, on the path to citizenship.Laws that allow people here for humanitarian reasons to adjust their immigration status Passed the House of RepresentativesHowever, we are facing uncertain prospects in the Senate.

Judge Brett Kavanaugh said the court should “be careful to tinker with written immigration law,” especially when Congress is likely to act. “But it’s like the big picture, but why do we need to dive here when Congress is so focused on immigrants?” Kavanaugh asked.

The case concerns whether people who have illegally entered the country and have been granted humanitarian protection have “entered” the United States under immigration law.

Judge Clarence Thomas said, “They were clearly not recognized at the border. Is it fiction? Is it metaphysical? What is it? I don’t know.”

The proceedings in court involved a couple in El Salvador who have been in the country since the late 1990s. In 2001, the United States provided Salvador immigrants with legal protection to remain in the United States after a series of earthquakes in their home countries.

People in the other 10 countries are protected as well. They are Haiti, Honduras, Nepal, Nicaragua, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Venezuela and Yemen.