The Warriors defeat the Celtics 103-90 to win their fourth NBA title in eight years


Boston (AP) —The Golden State Warriors are once again the NBA champions, surpassing the Boston Celtics 103-90 on Thursday night to win their fourth title in the last eight seasons.

Stephen Curry scored 34 points in the Warriors, who won the seventh championship across the franchise. And this is the end of a unique journey. After five consecutive finals, he plunged to the bottom of the NBA and returned to greatness in just two seasons after hitting the league’s worst record.

This is the fourth championship for Curry, Klay Thompson, Draymond Green and Andre Iguodala. The first three rings took place in 2015, 2017 and 2018, when the Golden State was a dynasty and played five consecutive finals.

Injuries, including those that set Thompson aside for two and a half years, and changes in the roster changed everything. But this season, the Warriors are finally back, as Thompson is back on the way.

Return to the top. The Champions once again denied that the famous Celtics were their record 18th championship. This allowed Boston to beat the tie with the most Los Angeles Lakers in league history.

This Warriors story ends very differently from its recent final appearance against Toronto in 2019. Kevin Durant tore the Achilles tendon in Game 5, and Thompson tore the ACL, which became the title clincher of the Raptors in the game. 6.6.

The aftermath of that loss was exacerbated by Durrants’ decision to leave the summer as a free agent to join Brooklyn Nets and Thompson’s own Achilles tendon injury while rehabilitating his knee injury.

It forced the Golden State team to rebuild and it became a reload. The Warriors have taken advantage of the two-year hiatus from the NBA’s biggest stage to recreate the roster. Along with another rising star in Jordan Poole, we’ve added the # 1 draft topic in Andrew Wiggins.

It all clicked. This will be the ninth championship for Golden State coach Steve Kerr after five wins as a player. He is the sixth coach to win four titles, joining Phil Jackson, Red Auerbach, John Kundra, Gregg Popovich and Pat Riley.

Jaylen Brown led the Celtics with 34 points. Al Horford added 19. Jayson Tatum finished with 13 points, but shot 18 6s from the field. Boston also committed 22 turnovers and 16 or more, dropping to 1-8 this postseason.

Boston was defeated for the fifth time in 22 title series appearances, giving them a chance to look back on the season and win this crown. Boston was 25-25 in 50 games, but went on to the finals and almost claimed to be the franchise’s second championship since 1986.

The global COVID-19 pandemic has been affected for the third consecutive season, and although the situation is close to normal, championship celebration photos and videos forever indicate that the virus was still a problem. It will be a reminder.

Commissioner of the NBA, Adam Silver, was unable to participate in the match because he remained in the league’s health and safety protocol related to the virus. The redesigned Larry O’Brien Trophy (a golden souvenir for the NBA Champion) was instead presented to the Warriors by Deputy Commissioner Mark Tatum.


Other APNBAs: and