U.S. and 97 other countries announce agreement with Taliban to continue evacuating allies after August 31

The United States, along with 97 other countries, announced on Sunday: They reached an agreement In cooperation with the Taliban, it allowed Afghanistan’s allies to continue to be expelled after the August 31 withdrawal deadline.

Important reason: The joint statement states, “We continue to allow citizens, citizens, residents, employees, Afghans who worked with us, and those at risk to travel freely to destinations outside of Afghanistan. I promise to be able to do that. “

Get the right market news for your time at Axios Markets. Subscribe for free.

  • “We have been assured by the Taliban that all foreigners and Afghan citizens with travel permits from our country can proceed in a safe and orderly manner to travel to their place of departure and abroad. “The statement continued.

  • “We will continue to issue travel documents to designated Afghans, and we have a clear expectation and commitment from the Taliban that they can travel to their respective countries. We understand this. Note the official Taliban statement to confirm. “

  • The Taliban chief negotiator, Shah Mohammed Abbas Stanexai, said Friday that the group would not block people’s departure.

caution: National Security Adviser Jake Sullivan told Face the Nation that the United States has “significant power” to “keep the Taliban in its pledge.”

Do you like this article? Get more from Axios, Subscribe to Axios Markets for free.